Holiday Cooking and Baking Overwhelm

Hello again! I have been busy, busy, busy! Where did December go? I can tell you that I have been spending a LOT of time in my kitchen, but didn’t have much time to take photos of, or share with my words, all the things I was doing. So, now I get to play catch up! First things first – In addition to my day job, I had an opportunity to work as a seasonal bookseller at a local bookstore, so I invested some of my earnings and employee discount in some new cookbooks. I will share those very soon. They asked me to stay on and cover some shifts through the end of January, and I said yes. I am not going to lie – I am exhausted, but the extra cash is very helpful.

20171226_085905

Now that it is January, I can also share the gift I gave my hubby for Christmas! I enrolled him in the “Cookie of the Month Club!” I did this for him two years ago, and he loved it because he loves having cookies and milk for dessert. This is something I made up. Basically, I bake him a batch of cookies each month. I make a pretty (and simple) schedule of what he will get each month, put the schedule in a cute envelope and put it under the tree. He was very happy to get it again this year after being without it last year.

The logistics side of it meant that I printed a copy of the schedule for myself and copied all the recipes that I am using from their respective books, labeled each copy with the month, and put them in a folder so that I don’t have to hunt each recipe down every month. Easy peasy!

I will write again soon!

Leave a comment